In India, from old-time to now, there are many powerful women available who made their career in politics and served the country.

In this article, we will describe top ten Indian female politicians that worked well and still working like a strong one, so here is the list:-

Alka Lamba

Alka Lamba was born in Delhi, on 21st September 1975. She served the Indian National Congress for 20 years. Later, she joined the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in the year 2014 and quit it in 2019. 

In 2015, she became the MLA of Chandni Chowk, Delhi.

In September 2019 she again joined the Congress Party. Alka started her political career in 1994 by joining the National Student Union of India (NSUI).

Harsimrat Kaur Badal

Harsimrat was born in New Delhi, on 25th July 1966. 

Harsimrat was the union cabinet minister of food processing industries in the Indian government and also is a member of the Lok Sabha and Shiromani Akali Dal Party. In September 2020, she quit the cabinet.

She started her political career in 2009. Her husband’s name is Sukhbir Singh Badal, the former Deputy Chief Minister of Punjab. 

Agatha Sangma

Agatha was born in Delhi, on 24 July 1980. She is a member of the Indian parliament. She is an advocate and an environmentalist by profession.

From 2009 to 2012, she served as union minister of state for rural development.

In the council of ministers of the 15th Lok Sabha, Agatha was the youngest minister.

Agatha is the Lok Sabha leader of the National People’s Party (NPP).

Mamta Banerjee

She was born in Kolkata on 5th January 1955. She is the Chief Minister of West Bengal. 

In 1998, she quit the National Congress Party of India. She is the founder and chairperson of the All India Trinamool Congress, which was founded in 1998.

She has also written some books like Slaughter of Democracy, Struggle for Existence, Upalabdhi, Manabika, etc.


JayaLalitha was born on 24th February 1941 in Melukote and passed away on 5th December 2016 in Chennai. 

In 1984, Jaya became a member of Rajya Sabha and served there for 5 years.

She was the general secretary of AIADMK (All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam).

Jaya was also an actress, who played roles in 140 movies. She became chief minister of Tamilnadu for six times.


Mayavati was born on 15th January 1956 in New Delhi. Mayavati is the president of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) that is related to reservation in India. 

During the period from 1995 to 2012, she became chief minister of Uttar Pradesh (U.P.) for 4 times. She was also a Member of Parliament from 2012 to 2017.

Soniya Gandhi

Soniya Gandhi was born in Italy on 9th December 1946. She is a member of parliament and also the president of the Indian National Congress.

In 1999, she became the Leader of the Opposition. In 2013, Sonia was being declared as the first person, who served continuously for fifteen years as the president of a congress.

Sushma Swaraj

She was born on 14th February 1952 in Ambala state, Haryana, and died on 6th August 2019. Except a politician; she worked as a lawyer in the Supreme Court.

In 1977, she became the cabinet minister of Haryana state. Thrice, she became a member of the legislative assembly.

She became a Member of Parliament for 7 times. In 2003, she became minister of health and family welfare.

From the year 2014 to 2019, she served India as a minister of external affairs.

In 1998, she also became the chief minister of Delhi for a very short period (less than 2 months).

Sheila Dikshit

She was born on 31st March 1938, in Kapurthala and died on 20 July 2019. From 1998 to 2013, she served as chief minister of Delhi.

In 1998, she became a member of the legislative assembly.

In January 2019, she became president of the Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee.

Vasundhara Raje Scindia

She was born on 8th March 1953 in Mumbai. From 1989 to 2003, she was a member of parliament.

She was also a member of the Rajasthan Legislative Assembly. In 2013, she became the 13th chief minister of Rajasthan.

She started her political career in 1984 by becoming a member of the Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP).

From March 1998 to October 1999 she was appointed as a minister of state for external affairs.