List of Famous Indian Presidents

The President is considered to be the principal figure of India. The President was also given the status of Head of India and he is called the first citizen of India. The president of India is considered a symbol of unity and integrity.

Today we inform you about such influential Presidents and also tell about their contribution to the progress of India.

Dr. Rajendra Prasad

Birth -Dec 3, 1884 (Jeeradei)

Death – Feb 28, 1963

Tenure – Jan 26, 1950- May 13, 1963

Dr. Rajendra Prasad, the first President of independent India, was born on 3 December 1884 in Siwan district of Bihar.

Along with Mahatma Gandhi, he played an important role in liberating India and also supported Gandhi in the Non-cooperation Movement. He was the first President to become President twice. He was also the candidate of the “Indian National Congress” and one of the loving persons.

 Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan

Birth – Sep 5, 1888 (Tirutanni)

Death – Apr 17, 1975

Tenure – May 13, 1962- May 3, 1967

Radhakrishnan was the first person to hold the post of Vice President before becoming President. He was an excellent philosopher and writer.

He was awarded the degree of knighthood in 1931 and “Bharat Ratna” in 1956. Since 1962, his birthday, 5 September, has been celebrated as “Teacher’s Day” in the respect of Radhakrishnan. He was an independent candidate.

 Zakir Hussain

Birth – Feb 8, 1897 (Hyderabad)

Death – May 3, 1969

Tenure – May 13, 1967- May 03, 1969

Zakir Hussain was the first President who belonged to the Muslim Society. He also served as the founder and vice-chancellor of Aligarh Muslim University.

He was the first President to be honored with both the “Padma Bhushan” and the “Bharat Ratna” and he became the first President who died during his tenure.

He is an independent candidate.

A. P. J. Abdul Kalam (Rameshwaram)

Birth – Oct 15, 1931

Death – Jul 27, 2015

Tenure – Jul 25, 2002- Jul 25, 2007

Abdul Kalam was the first President who was a scientist. He did a lot of work for ballistic missiles and nuclear weapons. Abdul Kalam is called Missile Man and is also known by the people as “People’s President”.

In 1997, he was awarded the “Bharat Ratna”. He wrote 25 important books like “Wings of Fire”, “India 2020”.

He is an independent candidate

 V. V. Giri

Birth – Aug 10, 1894 (Brahmapur)

Death – Jun 23, 1980

Tenure – May 1969- Jul 20, 1969

After the death of Zakir Hussain, V. V. Giri was appointed as Acting President. He was the first President to hold both the Vice President and the Acting President.

He is an independent candidate.

 R. Venkatraman (Rajmadam)

Birth – Dec 4, 1910

Death – Jan 27, 2009

Tenure – Jul 25, 1987- Jul 25, 1997

R. Venkatraman was the first President who served as both Finance Minister and Defense Minister and he did justice with both roles.

Venkatraman was a Congress Party candidate.

K. R. Narayanan (Ujahwoor)

Birth     – Oct 27, 1920

Death   – Nov 9, 2005

Tenure – Jul 25, 1997- Jul 25, 2002

K. R. Narayanan was the first President to be elected from the Dalit community. He was elected as the ninth Vice President of India and the tenth President. He was an independent candidate.

Pratibha Patil (Nadgaanv)

Birth – Dec 19, 1934

Tenure – Jul 25, 2007- Jul 25, 2012

Pratibha Patil became the first woman President of India and she also becomes the first woman Governor of Rajasthan. She was the candidate of the Indian National Congress Party.

Pranab Mukherjee (Miriti)

Birth – Dec 11, 1935

Death – Aug 31, 2020

Tenure – Jul 25, 2012- Jul 25, 2017

Pranab Mukherjee was the President who had served as Finance Minister, Foreign Minister and Defense Minister. He was the candidate of the Indian National Congress Party.

Ramnath Kovind (Paraukh)

Birth – Oct 10, 1945

Tenure – Jul 25, 2017- Incumbent

Ramnath Kovind became the second President who belonged to the Dalit community. He has also been the Governor of Bihar before becoming President. He is the 14th President of India.  He was the candidate of the Bhartiya Janata Party.